OneFora banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
ElectricianTalk.com
Electricians Talk
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I am an administrator at Electricians Talk and I was wondering if it is possible to add a forum where everyone can see but only mods can post in?

Also, being the unskilled forum guy I am I deleted the entire forum--just kidding. I did try and create a category for the forum and that work. I added a node, not knowing what the heck a node was, and I got my category. When I adding the forum for that category they disappeared from the forum list for members but still visible in the node list.

What am I doing wrong???? Please explain the process and remember I am 70 years beautiful but my brain is not so beautiful any more

Reactions: AG Jeff

·
Staff
VerticalScope
624 Posts
Have you already read the admin cp faq? I can help you with this a bit later.

·
ElectricianTalk.com
Electricians Talk
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Of course I didn't read anything...hahha I am a doing not a reader. I will take a look at it.

Reactions: TexasRoses

·
Staff
VerticalScope
624 Posts
I am working with Dennis privately as what he has in mind needs some special permissions set.

Reactions: HeyChris

·
ElectricianTalk.com
Electricians Talk
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
Reactions: AG Jeff and Cricket

·
Administrator
OneFora Sherpa
3,556 Posts
That was good because I substituted Electriciantalk and I got the one I need.... I could not find the FAQ's before that. Obviously your link wouldn't work as I am not an admin here. Doh
Yeah sorry, my bad, my brain is toast today. lol

Reactions: savcom

·
Registered
537 Posts
I don't see anything that indicates how to make a node read-only except for moderators and admins. You can make a sticky and close it which allow only mods and admins to make updates but that's not the same as making a node read-only. I've considered this myself but couldn't see a straight forward way of doing it.

·
ElectricianTalk.com