OneFora banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Folks,

Per @Goose17 suggestion, we will try to add some notes in advance of upcoming releases.

Labs: Friday November 15th
All sites: Tuesday November 19th

User-facing changes:
- increased search results from a maximum of 200 results, up to 500 results
- square-ish avatars will be released
- CSS performance improvements (in particular, eliminating some render-blockers)

Let us know of any questions or concerns!

·
Registered
TheNewX Admin
373 Posts
What are Render-blockers ?

Oooh - Definitely like the Square-ish Avatars !!!

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
To over-simplify, because I'm not very technical... It is when a piece of code pauses your browser to load. It blocks everything else on the page, until that one item is loaded/rendered. So, it's not very performance-friendly as it hogs/blocks all resources until it's done.

·
Registered
TheNewX Admin
373 Posts
So is it like on our site when we open a post w/an attach photo, the paragraph loads first w/o photo and after a few seconds the photo pops up?

·
Registered
286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
In this case, it's CSS which is the cascading style sheet. So would not have anything to do with photos posted in post content. Those are dealt with under the "lazy loading images" and rather than all being loaded as one big chunk, would instead be 'lazy loaded' as you scroll down the page and get close to the image.
Hopefully it makes sense, if not, I can certainly ask someone more technical than myself to chime in.
Are you having issues with photos being loaded in posts?

·
Registered
TheNewX Admin
373 Posts
Probably go over my head away. I self thought everything I knew about vBulletin and now working on XenForo....

One question though; How do you get rid of the annoying Ads !

·
Registered
2020 Shelby GT500 + 8 other Mustangs
75 Posts
How do you get rid of the annoying Ads !